Can the King Capture his attacker? Answer
Can the King capture his attacker? Yes, the king can capture his attacker. But within limits, because the King does not have the same powers of movement as a Queen. The King can capture any piece towards which he can move legally.
The King can capture any other piece of the opponent’s in chess as long as that does not put him in check or checkmate.
The Role of the King in the Chessboard
The King is the most important piece on the chessboard. If your King is in danger, you have lost the game. Even if the King is not captured, if he is in a position where he cannot move or get away and is vulnerable to attack, then the game is already over.
All chess pieces are worth a certain number of points. But except for the King. Maybe it’s because its worth cannot be calculated in points at all.
The King can move in any direction of the board, but only one square at a time.
How Can the King Capture his Attack? The Limitations of the King
Yes, the King can capture his attacker. But there are certain limitations.
A king can move only one square at a time. So how the King can capture pieces of the opponent is limited by his range of movement. So essentially, a king can only capture a piece that is adjacent to him.
There is another limitation to the King being able to capture his attacker. And that is when a player castles. Castling is when the King and the rook switch positions. Castling is a powerful move that protects the King behind a row of pawns and sets the rook in the central position to defend the King. (Please read this article for more about castling)
So when castling is done, the King cannot capture from his position. His position makes him strategically unable to make any captures of the opponent.
The most important limitation that will make a king unable to capture his attacker is that he cannot move into check while doing so. For example, a king can capture a piece that is adjacent to him. But he cannot if there is another piece of the opponent protecting the pawn, then the King will be in danger. In such an instance, the King cannot make the move to capture.
Another rule concerning the King capturing his attacker is that if the King is in check, then the primary move of the King must be to move out of check. He cannot make any other less important move to capture an opponent piece. If the King’s movement to capture a piece does not take him out of check, then he cannot capture it.
Additionally, a king cannot take another king. Because in chess, there is no such thing as a double-check.
The critical difference between Checkmate and Stalemate
Checkmate is when there are no available moves on the chessboard to bring the King out of check.
But if the King is not in check. He is not threatened. And yet there are no available moves on the board that won’t put the King on the check; this is a stalemate. A stalemate in chess in a draw. Please read this for more clarification on what a stalemate is and how to avoid it.
Can the King Capture his attacker? Conclusion
Yes, the King can capture his attacker. But it is limited to how much he can move, and the King cannot move into check. A king also cannot capture his opponent while in check because his primary move should be to move out of check.
*All pics are from Unsplash.com